Hub Berkeley Weekly Roll Up: “Hello, My Name Is”

Meredith is Gone. Over the past few weeks, everybody expressed a lot of sadness for her departure, but also a lot of joy for all the new adventures she has ahead. Meredith leaves a tremendous Hub legacy that I am hoping to live up to, and continue to grow. I encourage everybody to stay in touch with her; I’m sure there will be plenty of Meredith-Sightings in SF and Berkeley, and hopefully around the Hub in the years to come. Following up on her all-too-kind introduction from last week, I’d like to say “Hello” to you all.

My name is Jeff. My full name is Jeffrey Chad Shiau. I’m South Bay (Cupertino) born and raised, ventured south to San Diego for college, and have been back in the Bay Area ever since. I discovered the Hub through a chance-conversation with a fellow member, Amanda West (of ‘Amanda’s’ in Berkeley), who introduced me to our favorite Argentinean, Santiago Halty. I was working on an idea to address single-use problems that dominate social activities; you might have seen our pilot idea in the listserve, The MeeBox. I became a work-trade member, became more and more involved in Hub operations and initiatives, and the rest is history. Presented with the opportunity, it didn’t take me long to make this decision.

Why?

Because I love helping people build their idea. I love expanding what they currently have. And the Hub fosters an extraordinary community of the greatest ideas: ideas that measure success not just on the financial bottom-line, but through social and environmental impact.

This is my first full week, and I can’t express how excited I am to collaborate with you all in making the Hub your home, and helping everybody succeed in changing the world. PLEASE come chat with me during Sexy Salad Wednesday and Wine Down Friday this week; shoot suggestions, tell me to get a haircut, say anything! Thank you for taking the time to read this longer Roll-Up. I promise it’ll be shorter from here on out.

Cheers, because they are better than Boos.
-Jeff

Announcements

Labor Day on Monday, September 6.
I understand ideas never rest, but the Brower Center does, and it will be closed on Monday.

County Line Harvest (Berkeley Tuesdays, SoMa Mondays)
Delicious box of veges, as usual, from 4:00-6:00 PM. Bring $25, and go home happy.

Hub Business Cards
Don’t forget you can get a pretty sweet discount, look ultra cool, and stay sustainable with Hub sponsored, Greener Printer business cards. Remember to use “BAHUB” When you ‘Check Out’.
http://bit.ly/9Twpmu

Upcoming Hub Bay Area Events

Ryan Rigoli Leadership Coaching
(This Wednesday, September 1, 2:00-4:00 PM)
http://www.doodle.com/kpywqx23f3tw244f

Compathos Film with Social Impact Director Series @ The Hub: “Return to El Salvador” with SPEAKER: Director Jamie Moffett
(This Thursday, September 2, 7:30-10:00 PM)
http://hubcompathosfilmseriessept2.eventbrite.com/

Exchanging the “Blueprint of ME.” Building the “Blueprint of WE.”
The State of Grace Document
Introduction and Conversation at the Bay Area HUB SoMa
(September 16, 6:00-8:00 PM)
http://stateofgracedocument.eventbrite.com/?ref=ebtn

Green Speed Networking hosted by Sustainable Business Alliance and Hub Bay Area

(September 13, 6:30-8:30 PM)
http://bit.ly/dgtYao

Recycled Re-Mix at Intersection 5M
(September 9, 6:00-8:00 PM)
http://recycledremix.eventbrite.com/

Leave a comment

Filed under Hub BayArea, Hub Berkeley

Leave a Reply

